02 Abr SASTAGO PALACE
The Palace of the Sastago Counts is a building from the Renaissance, built by Don Artal de Aragon, the third Sastago Count and Aragon’s Viceroy during the XVI Century. It is located in the iconic Saragossa’s Coso Street and highlights for its exposed brick sober façade and its great inner courtyard with slender columns.
Sastago Palace has served as lodging for Kings and as the military headquarters during Saragossa’s under siege in the XIX Century by Napoleon’s army. It was during the Independence War against the French army, when the building next to the Palace, St. Francis Convent and currently Saragossa’s County Council, caught fire causing severe damages in both buildings.
Since then, the building has suffered numerous transformations. In 1843, the last Sastago Count, Joaquín María Fernández de Córdoba, rented out part of the Palace to open a Society Club for town’s Nobility, known as Casino Principal. In 1882, the inner courtyard became the prestigious Paris Café, keeping the courtyard’s original structure. However, in 1915 the Café closed and the Spanish Bank of Credit opened its doors. It was in 1960 when the bank decorated the place as its needs, hiding the astounding beauty of the inner courtyard.
The Palace refurbishment started in 1981 by Saragossa’s County Council, lasting six years. In January of 1987, thanks to the great work accomplished in its restoration, the Palace was awarded with the Medal of Honor to the best restored monument and the best adapted space to different cultural activities by Europa Nostra.
It was in 1984 when the Palace opened its doors to the public as a Hall for exhibitions, becoming an essential part of Saragossa’s culture.
No hay comentarios